PDA

View Full Version : Cost to US economy could be ten times greater than 9/11

Laisrean
September 10th, 2005, 01:23 AM
http://news.independent.co.uk/world/americas/article311045.ece (http://news.independent.co.uk/world/americas/article311045.ece)

Hurricane Katrina will be by far the costliest disaster in United States history, requiring $150bn (81bn) to $200bn in relief, clean-up and reconstruction spending by the federal government, and causing the short-term loss of some 400,000 jobs.

Danustouch
September 10th, 2005, 09:36 AM
Tell me about it. I work in the travel industry. And many of us are really worried about our job security. Certainly, we're bound to still get business travelers, however, I think leisure travel will be on a rapid decline. I wasn't working in the industry directly after 9/11, but i've heard how difficult it was then. And with the gas prices, and possible shortages, tighter state budgets as a result of caring for the victims of katrina choosing to settle in other states, and of course, the IMMEDIATE job losses as a direct result of Katrina...we're facing a very, very difficult, and unknown future. And if it's effecting travel, it's going to effect retail too.