PDA

View Full Version : Zen

Kendrah
October 12th, 2005, 12:36 PM
As a random curiousity, I was thinking about Zen this morning. I studied it a lot in my early days of paganism and am feeling a pull back towards the simple approach (I'm not sure if it's the Zen itself or if I'm searching for a bit of peace in my life.)

Well, as I was thinking, I remembered that a lot of people that have found their way into paganism have dabbled with Zen. And I'm kinda curious as to why. Is it that Zen is very compatible with witchcraft? Or that it's a less drastic path to try out when you leave christianity (as opposed to jumping into the witchcraft bandwagon.)

Any thoughts?

Paracelsus
October 12th, 2005, 03:34 PM
I sit zazen every day, but I wouldn't really consider it as a "spiritual" discipline - just a good way of being. Trying to see things the way that they really are just seems a sensible practice for any human being.

gurlygurl2004
October 12th, 2005, 11:49 PM
I've never tried it, but it sounds neat.

LadyCelt
October 13th, 2005, 12:41 PM
what religion is zen, shinto?

Kendrah
October 13th, 2005, 12:42 PM
Zen isn't shinto, though it is practiced in Japan. It's a form of buddhism.

wyrdmage
October 17th, 2005, 10:53 PM
Zen is such a great tool! Why don't more people use it in magic? I would definitely incorperate some Eastern Philosophy into my work. I also recommend a systematic approach as well.:blor:

Sev
October 18th, 2005, 06:27 AM
This thread kind of confuses me. Zen is to religion as a hammer is to a house; the hammer does not contain a house within it, but it can be used to build a better house.

Zen is, really, at its core, a statement of being, rightness of action, of being the moment you're being.

Kendrah
October 18th, 2005, 11:18 AM
This thread kind of confuses me. Zen is to religion as a hammer is to a house; the hammer does not contain a house within it, but it can be used to build a better house.