PDA

View Full Version : Ripeness

Kendrah
January 24th, 2006, 01:41 PM
I am new to the world of buying fruits and veggies. Often I don't know if the fruit/veggie is ripe or not, so for all you good people, could you list the fruits and veggies you know and how to tell if they are ripe or not. The only one I'm really good with is apples... ;) I need a lot of help!

Thanks a bunch!

Kendrah
January 24th, 2006, 01:47 PM
And while you're at it, where to put said fruits and veggies. (In the fridge or on the counter, such)

Ceres
January 24th, 2006, 01:53 PM
Watermelon sounds hollow when you knock on it, cantalope and honeydew melon will have no give when you squeeze it, but when you smell the end with the circle scar on it, it should smell strongly of the fruit inside. Pineapple is ripe when the topmost leaves pull out easily. Peaches will smell strongly and have just the slightest give when you squeeze them, or alternatively, when you can pull away a bit of skin from the stem area easily. Kiwi should have slight give when squeezed. Bananas of course should be yellow, but for optimum sweetness with no squishy bits, there should be a few tiny black spots. Berries should be firm with no juice seeping through the bottom of the container.

I never yet bought a mango that tastes ripe, so if anyone knows how to buy these, please post!

Ceres
January 24th, 2006, 01:55 PM
I refrigerate lettuce, carrots, spinach celery and green onions, berries and any fruit thats been cut. Everything else stays out.

WitchJezebel
January 24th, 2006, 02:33 PM
Pineapple is ripe when the topmost leaves pull out easily.

I never yet bought a mango that tastes ripe, so if anyone knows how to buy these, please post!