PDA

View Full Version : What do you think about self-dedication to a particular deity?

Fiamma
October 13th, 2006, 11:56 AM
This question is mostly for Hellenic folks, but i'm interested in hearing anyone's thoughts..

...what do you think about dedicating oneself to a particular god or goddess?

This is something I've been pondering for about 7 years now. And feeling a bit of a prodding for nearly as long, and a much more direct prodding since earlier this past spring.

what you have to say probably won't have much effect on what I do or believe myself, but i'm still curious. Like I said, I've been pondering this for years, so this isn't me just jumping up and saying "I just discovered the gods and I'm going to dedicate myself to aphrodite because she's the love goddess and I want lots of love in my life" or anything like that., I know that it's a pretty hefty thing to be thinking about.

ModernKnight
October 13th, 2006, 12:10 PM
I think if you feel called to do so, then do so. There's a lot of potential benefit in serving a god, but there's no reason to make a commitment like that before you're ready.

skilly-nilly
October 13th, 2006, 12:27 PM
This question is mostly for Hellenic folks, but i'm interested in hearing anyone's thoughts..

...what do you think about dedicating oneself to a particular god or goddess?

It's like falling off a cliff---the first step is hard, but then you're flying.

One hopes to find that one is hang-gliding rather than about to go *splat* but the verdict's still out on that.

Initially, I wasn't going to read this post; I read "self-dedication" as meaning "I am picking" which is just silly. Thankfully, your post makes that clear....."dedicating oneself" is (imo) the opposite action. You are all you really have to give in the end.