PDA

View Full Version : Advices about Goidelic?

Silverfangs
June 29th, 2007, 06:19 PM
Greetings!

Since I've started reading more about the Celtiberians and their language, I've discovered that what they spoken and wrote was very similar to the Goidelic. My interest in learning this language is kinda growing, but I am a total noob in this area.

What do you guys sugest? What is your experience with Goidelic/Gaelic? Is it very difficult to learn? From where do I start?

Peace :)

Seren_
June 29th, 2007, 07:07 PM
It depends on which Goidelic language you want to learn, really. One of the modern languages such as Irish (Gaeilge) or Scottish Gaelic (Gidhlig) would be the easiest to learn, but from historical manuscripts it's also possible to learn Old Irish or Middle Irish, for example (which evolved into modern Irish). I think which one you choose to learn depends on why you want to learn it...

I guess Old Irish would be the closest to what you're looking for if you're looking for whatever is closest to Celtiberian. There's Primitive Irish, which is the precursor of Old Irish, but it only exists in fragments and I doubt it would be an easy thing to learn.

I'm personally of opinion that languages are easy to learn if you have the knack. I'm guessing, since you're from Portugal, that English isn't your first language, so I would think since you're doing just fine here, another language wouldn't be too much of a problem. Once you learn the rules, the rest should follow.

I know Faol-chu speaks Scots Gaelic, and Nantonos has studied reconstructed Gaulish (IIRC) and is a bit of a linguistic expert, so perhaps they could give you more specific advice in that area, if they're about. I'm terrible at languages, myself.

Silverfangs
June 29th, 2007, 08:24 PM
Thanks for the quick reply! :) I'm trying to look on the net for more tips or online classes.