PDA

View Full Version : A Tarot Bag Knitting Pattern

EvieLee
January 9th, 2008, 11:40 PM
I didn't want to hijack Austeja's thread (http://mysticwicks.com/showthread.php?t=178403) over in the Tarot Forum, but it's of a similar vein.

I've become quite taken with the idea of making a little bag for my deck, but I'm really new to knitting. I'm only on my second project, and technically only on the first actual pattern because the first one (a scarf) I pretty much just made up based on a lose pattern. I can cast-on, knit, purl and cast-off. Oh and I can do some mean tassels, but that's not really relevant for this project. 8O Anyway, my trouble is that I'm not sure how to make up a pattern from scratch and have no idea where to start, but my google-fu has failed me and I can't seem to find anything on the net similar to what I want.

I'm looking to make something big enough for the deck (obviously) but not so incredibly tight that the yarn looks stretch - more pouch like and generic than for a specific sized deck. I've got an envelope kind of design in my head (similar to Rainsong's beautiful crocheted creations in the original thread). Very much just two pannels - front and back - with the back one extended to reach over the front to button up. I'm not sure if I have to include little edge pannels or do something special with the seaming to stop it all from stretching uncomfortably. In fact, I haven't seamed anything for that matter.

So you see my pickle? Any advice would be greatly appreciated, but it's not urgent - just in the planning phases at this stage.

Thanks.
Evie.

EvieLee
January 12th, 2008, 08:22 PM
Ok. Well, I'm going to keep digging, and maybe have a go at coming up with something my self. If I get anywhere, I'll update here. :hahugh:

Austeja
January 19th, 2008, 12:31 AM
Evie- ill look up some patterns for you tonight. :)

EvieLee
January 19th, 2008, 04:25 AM