PDA

View Full Version : What are you doing on your homestead now?

alwaysfallingup
January 25th, 2008, 02:27 AM
One of the things that I've always loved about farming and living close to the earth is that each season brings its own particular jobs and has its own unique rhythms. So, what are you doing on your homestead now? I'm sure it's different in each continent, country, and even growing zones depending on climate. Is it breeding time for your animals? Planting time for your crops? Harvest time for your orchards?

Right now, here in southern Illinois, I'm looking at seed catalogues and dreaming about spring. I'm also thinking about what to plant and considering buying some grow lights to start things inside (I admit, I'm not good with seeds so I usually start with plants instead). I'm also getting ready to make a couple of batches of soap now that I can get my lye again. I'm trying to meet my Self Reliance goals for this year and am doing pretty well at that so far (see my thread here in this forum about that). I'm also hoarding away money so that we can have a really good down payment when we find the perfect spot for us. So, right now is a pretty slow time for us on the homesteading front, since we're not really homesteading yet. :)

But what about you? What are you doing on your homestead right now?

Tanya
January 25th, 2008, 05:28 AM
its getting to be atish summer here... tomatoes are starting to come on.. lots of beans and zuchinnis...some nights there is a nip in the air... and I'm thining of what I will put in in the fall... tree wise.. next year.. figs. and more cherries.

wtching my winter squashes.. wondering if there will be enough raind to set their fruit... my lime looks like it will fruit.. and I have a half dozen lemons... the first I've ever grown.

:)

Shanti
January 25th, 2008, 03:44 PM
Um, let me see. It was -11F last night. We have a good foot of snow on the ground.

Well the mate has been keeping up in the wood chopping for the woodburner.