PDA

View Full Version : My query letter was accepted!

lamoka
January 27th, 2008, 07:58 AM
OK.. real big novice here!!
Something came from me recently that put itself down on paper. Its not a novel, more a guide, practical spiritual self help kinda thing.. it was from my heart.
so I contact llewellyn pub. and sent my query letter.. it was accepted and I was asked to send in my manuscript. The catch is this. My wordcount is very small. I know its small. This is a simple concept, simply given. This piece came from me meaning to be small but powerful (imho). So anyway, the guy at llewelyn says, it would be accepted as a proposal, and if they felt it worth it to move forward Iwas submitting it with the understanding that I could produce XXX amount of words on the topic.
If I do that, I feel the entire concept would be overburdened and lost as the wordcount they are proposing is almost five times what I have. I don't have an agent. Have never written a book before. And am not sure what to do. Do I stay true to what the piece is, do I compromise it in order to get it published... or do I submit it and trust that they see the value in it as the way it was intended to be???
HELP, EXPERIENCED AUTHORS, YOUR WISDOM IS SORELY NEEDED!!!
aho

Artiste-LiLi
January 27th, 2008, 11:49 AM
I'm not an author/writer...but I am an avid reader and a few things popped into my head. Having read several "self-help" style books and noting their style and formatting....these questions come to mind:

1. Is this "self-help" thing something anyone can do?
2. Can this "thing" be applied to people outside the realm of "metaphysical"? If no....that's ok...it can still go through the following.......
3. If yes, can you get people to do it and tell you of their "previous life" and their "after doing this life"
4. If yes, then you could potentially "pad" the original work with "case study" stories in order to show the "self-help" in "practical application/results" light.