PDA

View Full Version : My hens have quit laying..

lamoka
February 18th, 2008, 07:40 PM
Okay..
so I am new to chickens and such and have had two with one rooster for about a month and a half..
when we first got them they were laying quite regular, an egg each every other day or so.. over the past two weeks they have quit laying..
if it was one I would worry about sickness, but since it is both I am assuming they are fine and are cycling due to cold weather and such.. the days are actually getting longer so I am not sure it is due to lack of light.. any opinions would be helpful..
thanks so much
aho
p.s. LOVE THIS NEW FORUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:rotfl:

MidnightFire
February 18th, 2008, 08:01 PM
Do you have a light of some kind in their hen house, or whatever shelter you provide for them? Keeping one in there can help start chickens laying again.

Also, if you only want them for the eggs, you don't need the rooster around. If anything he would do what comes natural and the hens may be trying to start brooding a batch of eggs to hatch.

Just my thought.

MidnightFire

Tanya
February 18th, 2008, 10:23 PM
I agree, a light in the hen house left on til you go to bed might help. The other thing i've heard is to give them warm mash for breakfast to warm their little bellies... Though it is getting warmer, they have probably used a lot of their stored energy all winter to keep warm and are starting to scrape the bottom of their stores, and thus conserving energy by ceasing to lay.

to make warm mash, just add hot water to thier feed to make it the consistancy of oatmeal.

also consider upping their calories in general... more fat! I don't know if you give them table scraps or refridgerator cleanings, but if you aren't DO.

help them conserve energy by making sure their house has lots of straw or other bedding and isn't drafty.

lamoka
February 19th, 2008, 06:12 AM