View Full Version : What's up with this?

May 13th, 2008, 12:29 PM

Some Tennessee homeschool graduates are losing their jobs because they have homeschool diplomas.

Pagan Warrior
May 13th, 2008, 02:23 PM
I'm not a lawyer but there is a concept called ex post facto which basically makes conduct illegal that was legal when it was originally performed. On a criminal level this is unconstitutional (Art. 1, § 10). How it relates to this article I'm not sure.

May 13th, 2008, 03:44 PM
I was just reading up on this, but my information is Canadian. Still, it might apply:

When I speak on the topic of university admissions, I’m often asked how homeschoolers “get a high school diploma.” The reality is, many homeschoolers do not get a high school diploma. And in fact, by definition (according to the universities), if you have a high school diploma, you are not a homeschooler!

If you go through the homeschool admission policies of the Ontario universities, you’ll notice that while you may be asked to provide a transcript, or portfolio, you will not be asked to submit a “diploma.” That’s because universities do not recognize diplomas unless they come from a government-accredited source.

And most importantly, a homeschooled applicant is one who by definition does not possess a government diploma. So, the university is not expecting you to present any diploma whatsoever. This is why you’re considered a homeschooler, and this is why you’re presenting a portfolio, or standardized test results or some other requirement that is not required of traditionally-schooled applicants.

I found this that DOES apply to how the USA issues high school diplomas, though it may already be common knowledge for American homeschoolers: