PDA

View Full Version : learning oil painting

halfwaynowhere
September 15th, 2008, 01:55 PM
So I was talking to someone yesterday about oil painting, and how my friend is supposed to be working on a series of paintings for me, but hasn't even started yet. So she suggested that I learn to oil paint, and do them myself.
The thought had never crossed my mind, but now I'm starting to think that might be a pretty cool idea. Then again, I'm not very good with drawing and painting and stuff... Like, I can draw things if I have a picture or something to work from, and the paintings I want are actually based on some of my photographs, so it might not be a bad idea to try learning. But I've never ever tried working with oils. Is it something I might be able to teach myself from things like online tutorials, or would it be better to have someone actually there to teach me? My friend who does the painting could try to teach me, but I don't think that would work very well... She's tried to teach my things before, and it never worked... like guitar. She tried several years ago to teach me, and finally i just taught myself from online tutorials.

So, any tips for someone who has absolutely no experience with oil painting on how to get started? A list of required supplies (bare minimum, as I'm on a very low budget) would be nice, too. Because I really have no idea what to do...

SilverClaw
September 15th, 2008, 03:52 PM
I had no experience whatsoever when I started oil painting almost 5 years ago, my husband gave me two techniques for texture and that was it.

I painted I never drew before hand especially since I was painting on wood, when it is canvass I sometimes draw ahead of time so I know where I am putting everything especially if it is small and detailed.

My first several paintings were just landscapes and abstract pieces till I felt confident to move on from there.