PDA

View Full Version : People who send mixed signals

Iris
December 7th, 2008, 03:20 PM
Ok, this would be a long story if I told it the way that I want to but for the sake of brevity: what experience do you all have with people giving you mixed signals? In other words, people you would swear on your dearest possession are attracted to you...who then back off quicker than roadrunner if things threaten to become real?

I'll give the reader's digest version. I am a retail manager, and not so long ago this group of guys started coming into the store most days. There was one I was attracted to, who I quickly found out was attached...but it was his friend who seemed to be giving me a lot of attention. At first I humoured him, wondering what his game was...but after a while I really looked forward to seeing him every day, and found him really easy to talk to. A big part of the appeal is that we have parallel job roles, and so he understands what I go through on a daily basis (one of the reasons given for my recent breakup was that I am "too interested in my job" and talk about it too much, so it's important to me to have someone understand my stresses.) It was a slow burn and developed into a pretty intense attraction, to the point that whenever he would come in I couldn't seem to focus on whatever I was supposed to be doing and would lose my train of thought and mess up my work real bad...

Anyway, trying to keep this brief. He recently had to move away. He still lives within a sensible distance but rarely comes into the shop now...only when he visits his friends, which is like once a week or so.

Anyway, I was so, SO convinced that this guy was into me, that when my long-term partner dumped me, my thoughts turned to him at once. And I like to deal with things head-on, so I asked him out.

Initially he said yes.