PDA

View Full Version : Learning about Celtic Recon.

Miss.Annabelle
June 13th, 2009, 03:38 PM
Hi all!
I'm still pretty new to MW and I've been narrowing down paths that I find very interesting. I was reading the threads and trying to piece things together. I don't know how well the Adopt a Newbie program works, although I have been talking to someone because of it. Anyway, I was just wonderin' if there was someone who is strong in the Celtic beliefs who would love to help me get started in learning more about Celtic Recon. Just PM me if you'd like. Thanks! :)

Seren_
June 14th, 2009, 07:02 AM
CR is an umbrella term for a variety of different cultures that fall under the term 'Celtic', so first off, which one are you interested in? Most people tend to be interested in Irish reconstructionism but there's also Scottish, Welsh, Gaulish, Brythonic...I have a fair idea of Irish and Scottish practice, but not so much the others, and most people here are of the Irish and Scottish variety.

For starters, I think the CR FAQ (http://www.paganachd.com/) is a good place to start to get an idea of what it's all about, and the Wikipedia article (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celtic_Reconstructionist_Paganism) makes for something a bit shorter and sweeter, I guess.

I know it can be daunting asking questions on a public forum, but I think it would be good to stimulate some discussion round here, and you can get a variety of perspectives on the things you want to know, so a more rounded view. If you'd like to PM me about anything, then feel free as well :)