PDA

View Full Version : A New Avatar Using Gimp

TygerTyger
July 25th, 2009, 04:19 AM
I ahve been struggling with digi-art for some time now. I've spent this morning knocking out a new avatar. It is a combination of the Ankh symbol with the Infinity symbol.

I created a tiger pattern to fill the ankh and used a fire pattern for the infinity.The background is just a galaxy photo I pulled from Google.

It took me about 2 hours in all but I'm still learning the Gimp commands!

WynterWynd
July 25th, 2009, 05:02 AM
:thumbsup:Good job!

Philosophia
July 25th, 2009, 05:20 AM
Looks good! :hugz:

TygerTyger
July 25th, 2009, 06:21 AM
I'm not sure if the Ankh looks like it's wearing a bowtie?!

green aventurine
July 25th, 2009, 08:15 AM

lol I thought it looked quite cool myself. I was also relieved to discover the word "gimp" in your title referred to: GNU Image Manipulation Program and not something else :bigredgri

Chaos Hawk
July 25th, 2009, 09:42 AM

:lol:

When I first looked at it, I thought it was very snazy looking. Then I saw this and thought it does!

I still think it is cool looking though.

HiccupingBat
July 25th, 2009, 12:18 PM
Oh you tried GIMP! Nice! Hmmm, I think it's great for being a beginner at the program.

I can offer some advice on how to work with it in the future, however, I think you can really benefit from Adobe PS...whatever number it is now (PM me about that). Or a tablet might be useful? I don't know if you have one, if you do then I can offer some other advice on making the infinity less...er...bowtie-ish.

TygerTyger
July 25th, 2009, 02:36 PM
Hey, thanks for all the positive comments everyone!

GIMP is my first use of a serious digital art package and I'm getting to quite like it now that I've figured out the more interesting controls and commands. There's still a lot to learn, however, and before I have a go at something a bit more serious I might wait a little while.