PDA

View Full Version : Mabon is soon! Advice needed

Cambria
September 17th, 2009, 08:30 AM
Inspired by RaheemsMusing's thread on Samhain, I'd need some advice from you all about Mabon. Who is celebrating it? What are you doing? As I mentioned in the other thread I'm new to being "active" about celebrations and starting to be a bit more open with being Pagan..my husband is indifferent and supportive, but none of our friends know. I've decorated the dining room and the alter which I'm debating about leaving out when we have our "Welcoming Autumn" potluck supper this Saturday..just not sure I'm in the mood to expose myself to stupid questions and wise cracks about being a witch...ya know?:hairred:

It's the closest to actively celebrating Mabon with people that I've come to..so anyone have suggestions on what to serve? I'm responsible for the meat dish..thanks in advance ;)

brymble
September 17th, 2009, 09:35 AM
Do you, your husband, or your friends hunt? Many (but certainly not all) omnivorous Pagans like to celebrate the Sabbats with game they've hunted themselves. Others choose poultry dishes like turkey. Many celebrate it identically to the secular Thanksgiving.

Mabon is the fruit harvest. Even omnivores may wish to play up dishes featuring fresh fruits and veggies. Dishes featuring squash, apples, pears, tomatoes, and whatever is local and in season are the most traditional.