PDA

View Full Version : Want to learn how to sew...

Strawbearry_PANDA
May 27th, 2010, 10:41 AM
Hey, I'm kind of new to wicca and I'm a firm believer that what you make is more powerful than what you buy. I want to learn how to sew, because I want to put my personal energy into what I make, and also I'd like to make unique things. :3

Can someone give me advice? I tried going to a class but it was just....bah... I didn't much like it, haha. I know you gotta swim in shallow water before moving to the deep end but... I just didn't feel it, you know?

misskitcat
May 27th, 2010, 12:16 PM
There are some good books out there. Here's what a recommended for beginners.

New Complete Guide to Sewing (Readers Digest)
The My First Sewing Book Series is geared for kids, but really good.

If you can get a mentor, they can help a lot.

What are you looking to make?

Strawbearry_PANDA
May 27th, 2010, 12:24 PM
There are some good books out there. Here's what a recommended for beginners.

New Complete Guide to Sewing (Readers Digest)
The My First Sewing Book Series is geared for kids, but really good.

If you can get a mentor, they can help a lot.

What are you looking to make?

Ah, thanks so much! I'll try to get a hold of them. ^^

Well, mainly attire, hats, Sabbat dresses, ritual attire, maybe embroider altar cloths, things like that. <;D

EllieBelle
August 5th, 2010, 11:29 PM
I agree- the act of making an item imbues it with more power than you would ever find in a storebought item. Some of my most powerful tools are handmade.