View Full Version : A question on reading Non-RW clones.

January 10th, 2011, 01:57 PM
I have: The Tarot of Atlantis (http://www.aeclectic.net/tarot/cards/atlantis/)

This deck serves me well, I share a deep bond with it, the readings I have done with it I feel to be accurate [and have been told so by friends] but I still have a bit of a nagging question at the back of my mind. - Am I doing it right?

The Atlantis deck came with this little white book indicating that some of the cards were 'different' than in the typical Rider-Waite setup, but I ended up tossing it out along with the box because the descriptions didn't seem that helpful at all. After some further reading I've found reviews stating that while this deck is similar to RW, it is very much it's own thing and therefor shouldn't be used by beginners if at all possible. I'm a beginner, and again this point I would consider myself doing just fine, but the book I've been using to aid me in my readings is The Tarot Bible (http://www.amazon.com/Tarot-Bible-Definitive-Guide-Spreads/dp/1402738382) which interprets the symbolism of the RW deck. So I'm wondering if I'm actually doing as well [or as accurately] as I think I am.

January 10th, 2011, 02:35 PM
I have a book that's helping with tarot, and it says that the most important thing to rely on with the cards is your intuition. It recommends hiding the little white book, and not using it to define the cards.

My thoughts? If you and your deck have bonded, and it's accurate, then you're probably doing it right. :)

Chaos Hawk
January 10th, 2011, 04:04 PM
Different decks do have different meanings for the cards. Learning a RW interpretation is not correct for every deck. I don't really follow the guidelines of "decks for beginners." Different people are more comfortable with different imagery.