PDA

View Full Version : Reading help?

Angel624
March 3rd, 2011, 05:41 PM
Ok so, I'm relatively new to the wonderful world of Tarot (Ok extreeeemely new). Card meanings I can handle, but my big issue is how they fit into different spots in a spread (cause some make absolute *NO* sense what so ever) and connecting the dots.
Does anyone have any tips/suggestions/etc?

Chaos Hawk
March 3rd, 2011, 07:11 PM
Well....

How complicated a spread are you doing?

Are you doing reversals as well as uprights?

What type of deck?

Can you give some specific examples of where you are finding things don't make sense?

What types of questions are you asking?

Are you reading for yourself?

I'm not trying to come off as interrogating, I just don't know how to help you with your question without some more information.

Mab
March 3rd, 2011, 07:41 PM
First, take a step back & breathe. Are you using a standard spread, one from a book, or making up a spread yourself?

If you are using something standard or from a book, try reading the card in relation to the cards around it. Don't over-analyze. Lots of the Little White Books that come with decks tell you what the cards "mean", but I find you really need to trust your intuition as to what you feel the card is trying to tell you. I tend to lay out the cards, and then pick each one up to examine & get a feel for, then try to place it in the context of the question and the position. Then I step back & look at the spread as a whole & try to get a feel for what the big picture is.

Good luck.

Jackie79
March 4th, 2011, 05:39 AM
Listen to these two, they are experts

Angel624
March 4th, 2011, 11:41 AM
Ok, the spreads are standard book spreads. (Past-Present-Future, Celtic Cross and the like.)
I am using reversals as well as uprights.
I've got the Mystic Dreamer Tarot.
I am reading for myself purely for practice. But I have tried for a couple of my friends as well. Sometimes it clicks, but other times I have great difficulty "getting it".