PDA

View Full Version : Hertiage and God/dess

Mariposa De La Luna
February 20th, 2001, 05:28 PM
Does heritage play a role in which God/dess we worship?

I was wondering about this recently. We (Americans) come from a very mixed background. But seeing as some of us know ours, does that influence your dicision of who to worship at times? Or do you think it doesn't matter? Do some of you envision your own personal God/desses that may not go by any "known" name?

OK here is where I'm coming from. My background is Mexican. So your thinking that may sound straight forward but from what I've found most Mexican God/desses were wiped out by the Aztecs and have no remaining info. On top of that you have the major state of Catholicism which has really only brought "Saints" from Europe with no local ones converted from local religions. I've always been drawn to the Greeks and Egyptians since I was younger and i know to go with what I feel is best but i'm new to this and was just curiouse how other people answer my question.

excuse my misspellings and run on sentences :)

Mairwen
February 20th, 2001, 05:46 PM
Originally posted by SAHM

Hey, SAHM I am is back! :D

Does heritage play a role in which God/dess we worship?

If that's a route you want to take, sure. "Tribal memory"/genetics really do come into play, here.

For example, my HP recently stepped down from this position to give time to study Asatru. I was speaking to his mother over the weekend, and come to find out, one branch of their family is what is considered to be "Black Dutch" (ie, the Norse that integrated with the Dutch). So, he had very strong reasons for being "drawn" to the Asatru path.

As for myself, I have a bit of Welsh in my family tree, a bit of Dutch, a bit of mutt, and a bit of godknowswhat (heh)(here in KY, we call that Heinz 57). The Gwyddon Path, and the Welsh Pantheon, have spoken to me like nothing else ever has.

does that influence your dicision of who to worship at times?