View Full Version : Is this website for real???
Hellenic_Witch
July 1st, 2004, 09:00 PM
I came upon this website in a search engine -- it upset me a great deal, in fact I am physically shaking from reading it! This can't be real, can it? Please tell me it's a spoof! I just happened upon it, so if there are previous threads about this site, I apologize. Here's a link:landover baptist (http://www.landoverbaptist.org/news0702/wiccans.html)
Aine of the Fae
July 1st, 2004, 09:06 PM
IT'S A SPOOF!!! Yes, it's a spoof, it is NOT real, and once you realize it's a spoof, it's really quite funny. They put a lot of work into it too!!
Imbrium
July 1st, 2004, 09:07 PM
I am so sorry, Sidhe,
but Landover Baptist is a complete spoof. They even have a second site, a spoof as well, dedicated to the destruction of Landover. It's made for some amusing reading.:hahugh:
So don't get too stressed out.
aftershocked
July 1st, 2004, 09:08 PM
NO! Landover Baptist is a parody site.. I don't remember all the details, but WitchVox had a story on them a while ago.. I'll see if I can look it up. But rest assured, it is totally spoofed. :fpeek:
[edit] we all jumped on this one, didn't we? :T
samiaminsane
July 1st, 2004, 09:13 PM
It's just a spoof. Read it again (knowing it's a spoof) and you'll probably end up rollling around on the floor, laughing until you cry...............
For example:
(NOTE: Most coven leaders are either Catholic priests or tattoo parlor owners)
DonovanJoseph
July 1st, 2004, 09:15 PM
i dont think i laughed more today! this was even better than the trolling that went on earlier! isnt it great to be a witch?! :kooky:
Hellenic_Witch
July 1st, 2004, 10:28 PM
OK -- I am so glad to know it's a spoof-- I feel a little silly for falling for it, but when I first read it, I was so upset that people would be so ignorant. What's really sad is that there are people out there that have no knowledge of Wicca or Paganism and they may happen along the site through a search engine as I did and believe it (as I apparently did) and they will believe that hurling dead black cats into unsuspecting church congregations is what Wiccans enjoy doing!
asamananara
July 1st, 2004, 10:40 PM
If you love Landover Baptist as much as I do, then check out
www.whitehouse.org , home of www.GeorgeWBush.org .
They're affiliated with Landover, and together paint a pretty
good picture.
Muireannach
July 1st, 2004, 10:46 PM
*Giggles like a schoolgirl*
That site was funny.
:dancy:
VroomBroom
July 2nd, 2004, 12:29 AM
Landover strikes again!:hehehehe: That place had me seeing red till I found out it was a parody site:lol:
tangerine_smile
July 7th, 2004, 02:17 AM
this site really had me going! but it's side banners tipped me off (the "god told me to hate you" banner was a dead give away )
IvyWitch
July 7th, 2004, 08:22 AM
You mean it's not real?! ACK my dreams have been shattered!
Kidding :p I love that site, it's hilarious. So is the Onion!!
RubyRose
July 7th, 2004, 08:55 AM
Geez! I know its a hoax, but still!
frigga
July 7th, 2004, 09:25 AM
My favorite was the what would Jesus Do thong! :rollingla
OceanMyst
July 7th, 2004, 09:45 AM
I came upon this website in a search engine -- it upset me a great deal, in fact I am physically shaking from reading it! This can't be real, can it? Please tell me it's a spoof! I just happened upon it, so if there are previous threads about this site, I apologize. Here's a link:landover baptist (http://www.landoverbaptist.org/news0702/wiccans.html)
Oh God I thought you were talking about Mystic Wicks being a spoof.. Hehe and with everyone agreeing you guys were really scaring me :T Hey look there's Gullible written on the ceiling!! :weirdsmil
skatha_mare
July 7th, 2004, 10:38 AM
I came upon this website in a search engine -- it upset me a great deal, in fact I am physically shaking from reading it! This can't be real, can it? Please tell me it's a spoof! I just happened upon it, so if there are previous threads about this site, I apologize. Here's a link:landover baptist (http://www.landoverbaptist.org/news0702/wiccans.html)
Luckily this one is a spoof. I've come across other articles warning about "new age therapies" that aren't spoofs. There is an article in the Belfast Telegraph and Irish independant newspapers, and here is a link to one on reflexology
http://www.nnu.edu/wesleyctr/books/1001-1100/HDM1003.PDF
It just makes me sad.
skatha_mare
July 7th, 2004, 10:44 AM
Oh God I thought you were talking about Mystic Wicks being a spoof.. Hehe and with everyone agreeing you guys were really scaring me :T Hey look there's Gullible written on the ceiling!! :weirdsmil
I thought that gullible wasn't a real word. :o :smile:
HorseCrow
July 7th, 2004, 11:04 AM
They are SO funny! :falloffch
sincerebliss
July 7th, 2004, 11:09 PM
I thought that gullible wasn't a real word. :o :smile:
Funny thing is..I was once told that and fooled. Gullible must be my middle name. I want to believe that people are honest and trust worthy....:( I'm wrong, people LIE! :flamer: Mean ole people! Never liked em anyways!..lol :grrrrr:
fay
July 9th, 2004, 05:36 AM
it is funny when you know its a joke! they really must have put a lot time and effort into it! im really glad it is a joke, so many arent.
blessed be
elfmage
July 9th, 2004, 06:28 AM
Woohoo, I am not the only one to have not realised it was a spoof at first!! I feel so much better.....LOL
Yes, it is a hilarious site!! Once you know that it is a spoof of course.........LOL
phoenix1010
July 9th, 2004, 07:31 AM
:hehehehe: It is pretty funny!! What's scary is the fact that some people may actually believe this.
MaryE
July 9th, 2004, 07:51 AM
roflmao! I think I need to order me one of them Wiccan hunting permits! :hehehehe:
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.