PDA

View Full Version : Ishtar

BrightStar
March 2nd, 2001, 03:19 AM
Hi all!
Well,I guess I'll do another one.I'm not a follower of the Sumerian or Assyro-Babylonian pantheons.But when I took a college course in my History Degree I studied the Ancient Near East.Most of the ancient documents from this area centered on religious or canonical texts.So I have the most info on them.At the time I studied this I was agnostic and used it to mess with Christians.Never realizing I'd later become a Witch and find this stuff so interesting!
Here is Ishtar.
ISHTAR
Originally Inanna of the Sumerians.Around 2200-2000 BCE she merges with Ishtar of the Akkadians,and later she is the main Assyro-Babylonian Goddess.She's also known to the Phoenicians as Astarte or Asherah.As Asherah she gave her name to the Hebrew(Israeli)tribe of Asher.As Ashurah she was widely worshipped by the farming population of ancient Israel as the Queen of heaven.Really freaked the priests.Little statues of her were buried in the fields of Hebrew farmers and are dug up in abundance to this day.
Ishtar had bright and dark aspects.As a Goddess of Love and Abundance she was the daughter of Anu,the sky god and Anat the Fertility Goddess and associated with the Fertility God Min.As a Battle Goddess her father was the Moon God sin.Over time many of Sin's lunar aspects became attributed to Ishtar.
Her consorts were Assur,the Supreme God and a War God,Marduk the God of the spring Sun.Nebo,God of Writing and Speech.(Note-Didn't Moses speak to God at Mt Nebo?)Tammuz was her main fella,a dying and resurrecting vegetation god.In "The Epic of Gilgamesh"the hero gets in a lot of trouble for spurning her advances.
She was associated with the planet Venus.Her symbols were an 8 pointed star and a symbol,looped at the top,resembling a comet.She was also know as "The Lady of the Beautiful Voice".Her cult animals were the lion,and in her dark aspect,the scorpion.