PDA

View Full Version : Confucianism

Morning Star
November 27th, 2004, 05:38 PM
http://www.hamilton.edu/academics/Asian/TempleCulture.html

I never heard of religious Confucianism. Does anyone know anything about this path?

I've hear that there are people who still practice this.

arctic splash
November 28th, 2004, 01:16 PM
http://www.hamilton.edu/academics/Asian/TempleCulture.html

I never heard of religious Confucianism. Does anyone know anything about this path?

I've hear that there are people who still practice this.

I studied Chinese religious history last year. I remember studying religious Confucianism, although Confucianism itself was my least favourite subject, so I don't remember much about it! There's always going to be a lot of debate as to whether Confucianism can be considered a religion or not...

I think it's a path that begins with serving the family, then the community, then the world... and eventually, as you come further on the Confucian path, you are able to serve the entire Universe. You achieve this by clarifying your qi and improving your intuition.

It's also very metaphysical... that was the most interesting part of it, to me... here's an excerpt from encarta.msn.com, about two of the most famous Confucian philosophers, Cheng Yi and Cheng Hao (qi, by the way, is also often translated -- especially by non-Confucians -- as energy or life force):