PDA

View Full Version : Taoism

MoonDragn
January 20th, 2005, 05:49 PM
I know I mentioned I was part taoist, but what exactly is taoism? Alot of you may be confused by what it means. heres a website devoted to explaining it. :

http://www.geocities.com/dao_house/basics.html

One important idea of taoism is the belief that opposites are one and the same, Yin/Yang, Light is dark, emptiness is fullness etc. Male is Female. This idea of unity of opposites is what I have been refering to when I talk about the polarity of the goddess/god in all of my arguments.

Taoism is the mysticism of science. It is a law of changes explained in a non scientific way. It is a merging of science and mysticism and has been used to explain quantum physics.

fafonen
January 20th, 2005, 09:04 PM
Thanks for the site. It looks good.

I'm new to taoism, but I'm reading the Tao of Pooh. (yes, Pooh as in Winnie the Pooh) and I'm really liking it. It explains things in a very clear, fun way as if you were reading out of one the children's books. So I suppose thats another good source.

It has a lot do with wholeness and simplicity as well. The idea of the uncarved block and such. Going with the natural laws of things.

Or at least, thats what I'm gleaning from the book. I'm merely a beginner.

Faeawyn
January 20th, 2005, 09:26 PM
Have you ever read "The Tao Of Pooh"? A friend gave me a copy of the book years ago. It was a little hard for me to grasp...or perhaps I just couldn't follow the concept...but I was wondering if you had read it :)

Verthandi
January 20th, 2005, 09:56 PM
Have you ever read "The Tao Of Pooh"? A friend gave me a copy of the book years ago. It was a little hard for me to grasp...or perhaps I just couldn't follow the concept...but I was wondering if you had read it :)
Heh, The Tao of Pooh is one of the books I have to read for my Eastern Religions class. I haven't started it yet, but I've always meant to read it.

MoonDragn
January 21st, 2005, 10:43 AM