PDA

View Full Version : agented or unagented

Ben Gruagach
January 21st, 2005, 08:36 PM
I have a question for the authors we have here at MysticWicks.

Agented or unagented?

Do any of you have agents? Do you feel the agent makes a difference in getting your work published? Is an agent something you would advise for those just starting out in publishing New Age/ occult/ Pagan books, particularly nonfiction?

I'm in the process of looking for a publisher for my first book, a nonfiction intermediate-to-advanced book about Wicca, mysticism, and mystery religions. Since I'm new to the business of getting published, I'm wondering if bringing an agent into the process would help or not.

If anyone has advice about specific agents (recommendations or warnings about them, for instance) please email them to me directly at ben@witchgrotto.com. I realize that mol and Semele might not want the liability of having specific recommendations or warnings about particular agents in the content of the board, so it might be best to keep the actual discussion on the board generic.

Thanks!

Yasmine Galenorn
January 22nd, 2005, 05:30 PM
I have a question for the authors we have here at MysticWicks.

Agented or unagented?

Do any of you have agents? Do you feel the agent makes a difference in getting your work published? Is an agent something you would advise for those just starting out in publishing New Age/ occult/ Pagan books, particularly nonfiction?

I have an agent--I would never again want to be without one. I sold all my nonfiction without an agent and ended up getting really bad contracts. My fiction has all been sold through an agent and she said she'll handle any future nonfiction I may do.

An agent can negotiate much better terms than an author--especially a first time author--can ever hope to. HOWEVER...a good agent is not likely to be looking for someone with just 'one' book in them, so you need to have more ideas on the back burner.