PDA

View Full Version : Could use some quick publishing advice from those with experience...

Silvan
April 6th, 2005, 11:52 AM
I have an unusual situation. I'm not writing about Pagan topics, but I'm a Pagan author.

I've written a small, computer-related book that has not been published on standard book media in English, and has, so far, earned me nothing. A German publisher has approached me with the idea of publishing in German translation, as part of a series of related books (Linux books, FWIW) sold in Germany.

So far, so good, but here's the sticking point. The cover price will be about $15, and standard royalty should be about $1.50, yes? They want to pay the translator $1.00 to my $0.50 per copy sold.

I'm reluctant to agree to these terms, and so am seeking advice from those who have published before. A 66/33 split in favor of the translator seems preposterous to me, I who have spent perhaps 2,000 hours writing this thing, but OTOH it's an offer of actual money to be had. I've written millions of words for free over the years, and I would love to break into publishing, even if I have to do it in German translation.

Can anyone offer any advice? The clock is ticking, so to speak. I can't afford to dally too long before I respond to the offer in some fashion.

So far, the concensus of opinion among those I've asked (none of whom have ever published) is that I should demand nothing less than 50/50, and walk away if they refuse. Do those of you who have published agree? If not, what do you suggest?

Thanks in advance.

DebLipp
April 6th, 2005, 11:56 AM
I'm sorry, I've never worked with a translator. If possible, you can hire your own translator and negotiate the money between yourselves, and deliver the book in German.

I have a friend who is a novelist who has been pubilshed in Germany. I'll ask her.

Yasmine Galenorn
April 6th, 2005, 12:18 PM