Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: A gravestone in a Salt Lake City cemetery is the focus of a curious mystery

is offline I'm not shy. I'm just studying my prey

A gravestone in a Salt Lake City cemetery is the focus of a curious mystery

A gravestone in a Salt Lake City cemetery is the focus of a curious mystery

IN A NONDESCRIPT section of the Salt Lake City Cemetery lies a small gravestone that bears an inscription so unusual that it has for years aroused curiosity, rumor, speculation – even fear – within those who have encountered it. While surrounding grave markers are inscribed with such common inscriptions as “devoted mother,” “beloved husband” or simply “in loving memory,” the gravestone of Lily E. Gray is inscribed with the mysterious and highly provocative phrase: “Victim of the Beast 666.”
    This is an allusion, of course, to the New Testament’s Book of Revelation, 13th chapter, which has been interpreted to refer to the Antichrist:

"And I beheld another beast coming up out of the earth; and he had two horns like a lamb, and he spake as a dragon....

And he causeth all, both small and great, rich and poor, free and bond, to receive a mark in their right hand, or in their foreheads: And that no man might buy or sell, save he that had the mark, or the name of the beast, or the number of his name. Here is wisdom. Let him that hath understanding count the number of the beast: for it is the number of a man; and his number is six hundred threescore and six [666]."

“The Beast” and “666” have henceforth become synonymous with Satan and the Antichrist.
    From here.

I've never heard of this before. Has anybody else?
    Facebook::Witch blog::Book Blog
    Gods and Goddesses, Paths: Dianic & Goddess Witchcraft, Theology & Philosophy, Just Current Events, and Political Pagan Forum Guide.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. - Buddha