Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Different phases of womanhood

is offline I'm not shy. I'm just studying my prey

Different phases of womanhood

To get some discussion going;

How important is the different phases of your life in your path? For example, how important was or is your first menstruation? Did you celebrate or mourn the passing of it when your cycles stop?

Do you believe its important to celebrate or appreciate the changing phases of your life? Why do you believe that society, as a whole, overlooks these milestones?

What are your thoughts on this topic?
    Facebook::Witch blog::Book Blog
    Gods and Goddesses, Paths: Dianic & Goddess Witchcraft, Theology & Philosophy, Just Current Events, and Political Pagan Forum Guide.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. - Buddha

Question everything.

I think that the lack of celebration of biological milestones is partly what is going wrong with society. I think it leads to things like the so-called "Peter Pan Syndrome" and General Anxiety Disorder. I think that people have a very hard time understanding their place in society, much less their place in the universe and I think we can attribute that, at least in part to the lack of the rites of passage celebrated in other cultures and other times.

For example, the "milestones" that have been celebrated in my life, by my family, by my culture: getting my driver's license (yay, I'm a grownup now!? Oh, I'm not?), graduating from school (yay! I don't have to learn anymore?!), turning 18 (oh, so now I'm allowed to make decisions for myself . . . oh, not all of them huh?), turning 21 (I'm celebrating that now I can make decisions for myself--well only just one. Yay, I can get drunk!), graduating from college (now I *really* don't have to learn anymore, right?)