Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: British Prison Population Reaches Record High

British Prison Population Reaches Record High

Justice Secretary Jack Straw has asked magistrates to consider non-custodial sentences in some cases to help ease prison overcrowding.
    The prison population in England and Wales has risen to a record high of 82,006 - 21 places short of capacity.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/7258137.stm

It's a sobering thought that after 10,000 years of recorded history we still do not know how to deter crime!

is offline I'm not shy. I'm just studying my prey
    I think there are too many people being put into jail for offenses that don't, in my opinion, require it. I know of some mentally ill and disabled people who are put into jail, even though they may not have committed a crime, because they don't have a place to live in or receive proper supervision. However, its not a problem that is isolated in the UK. I believe that many industrialized, first world countries, have similar issues.
    Facebook::Witch blog::Book Blog
    Gods and Goddesses, Paths: Dianic & Goddess Witchcraft, Theology & Philosophy, Just Current Events, and Political Pagan Forum Guide.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. - Buddha

Question everything.

A crimeless society is virtually impossible. No matter how severe the punishment. No matter how slim the chances of getting away with the crime. There is alot I wish to say about how I think we could, humanely cut crime rates down , but it is 3am and my mind is jelly...

...Meanwhile, can't we just ship them to Oz or something? Worked before
    Seek freedom and become captive of your desires, seek discipline and find your liberty.

Adam and Meagan sitting in a tree K I S S I N G

Founder of the Soli-Tarty movement - Pagan tarts unite (in my bedroom)