Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: Altar location advice.

Altar location advice.

Alright, so I'm pretty new to this religion, and I feel I am ready to create my own Alter. The problem is, I have two die-hard Christian parents who would probably be a little freaked out if they saw such a thing in my room.
    Now, I live in an attic which is very private and quite spacious, but if I were to make an Alter, it would be obvious and easily seen. This is my problem.

Any advice, thoughts, options on where I could possibly put my Alter?
    It would be highly appreciated. :]

Well, then make an altar that isn't conspicuous to begin with. Everyday objects can be used on an altar: a normal set of cups from the kitchen cupboards, a pen and a pencil, and tea lights, for instance. If having cups in your room has your parents' eyebrows wiggling, use containers for candy or school utensils. If you have a simple cabinet with a drawer, you can store everything. If you aren't allowed real candles in your room, get yourself some of those electrical ones. Your parents might even think you've developed a sense of style.
    Last edited by Xentor; August 24th, 2008 at 04:10 AM.
    Xentor, your friendly-neighbourhood Checkerist
    Contact me | The Dialogues on Checkerism

I run the @anonywicks accounts on Twitter, Tumblr, and Instagram. Pagans present!

I agree. Hiding an altar in plain site is actually really easy. I did so for nearly 2 years and it's the prime focus of my bedroom.

Pretty candles, cups and bowls etc can just look like a pretty tabletop display.

Religious blog

Well I'm not sure if this is the type of answer you're looking for or not, but...

For myself, I don't have an alter, as an object or place.

My alter is found within myself.