Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Thread: How long did you 'study' for before starting to practice?

How long did you study for before starting to practice?

(sorry if theres a thread about this already)
    I'm kind of new to all this. I've been drawn to paganism and wicca in perticular for years but due to various reasons never pursued it until a few weeks ago i decdied to ignore those reasons and go for it and 'find myself spiritually' as it were.
    while i don't know exactly all i beleive so far most of my beleifs lie within wicca of some form while going into other paths as well.

but i dont know if any of that really ahs anything to do with anything lol.

so how long did you study your path before you became a practicing pagan/witch/what you call yourself?

Last edited by AutumnSage; August 31st, 2008 at 03:16 PM.

Er...about half a year or so. I started researching Neopaganism in April or so of '07, and started looking closer at Wicca late that year. I finally self-dedicated as a Solitary Wiccan in early January of this year.

Might seem a bit quick, but I learn fast and absorb new information very quickly.
    And even so, I don't practise actively. I've never done a real ritual, in the usual sense.
    I'm more of a theorist.
    Last edited by Louisvillian; August 30th, 2008 at 04:23 AM.

That was 18 years ago, so I don't remember exactly. I think after a few weeks of getting together and talking every weekend and doing some reading during the week, our leader had us jump straight in and start doing all kinds of things. Everything from metaphysical energy type exercises, to casting group spells, trying to astral project, trying past life regression, right on up to putting together and leading a ritual. It was a small group and except for the leader we were all very new to this path. I happen to be the kind of person who learns best by doing - or at least trying - so it worked out very well for me.

rural Ontario Canada, between Kingston and Brockville