Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: warrior path?

Question warrior path?

okay, so I got to thinking. how do we reconcile warrior paths mentality ( honor, defence, martial skills) with rencarnation? I'm not trying to get into a discussion of "harm none" but what is the thoughts of folks? how do actions that harm another affect our spiritual growth?

in another regard, I work as a healer, and I am a warrior. is that a way to balance it? It was common in Native american peoples for old warriors to become medicine people....

I suppose it depends on your path, definition of a warrior and personal opinion.

I see myself as a warrior too but I also spend a fair amount of time healing and guiding. I don't feel there's anything for me to reconcile, I feel that 'harm none' (etc) is not a relevant concept for me as I just try to do my best in any given situation (I also believe that tough love is often necessary). I do not do any kind of martial art and I would never choose to fight physically. I will do whatever I feel is necessary, I don't shy away from anything just because it might be difficult or unpleasant. I am dedicated to Odin which, for me, is a dedication to gaining knowledge by facing and overcoming challenges.

nesta

No man is so good as to be free of evil, nor so bad as to be worth nothing.
    Norse Proverb

The coward believes he will live forever, if he holds back in the battle, but in old age he shall have no peace.
    Norse Proverb

Are you perchance confusing "warrior" with "aggressor"? I don't see how honor, defense, and martial skills either harm another or conflict with the process of reincarnation/spiritual evolution. Don't the most advanced martial arts come from societies with established beliefs in reincarnation and spiritual development?