Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Any Taboos on Your Path?

Any Taboos on Your Path?

Just curious if your path includes any taboos, like absolute no-no's or forbiddens, that you observe.

Mine... I will not access MW while I am in our church. I do this out of respect for my God, who has no tolerance of other gods. He, by His own admission, is jealous...

How about you?

EDIT: We have the ten commandments, too, of course!
    Last edited by Cunae; July 28th, 2009 at 04:25 AM.

The Only Sin Is Restriction...

Yes, many. But since I'm still learning about things, I'm only observing major ones (common to all Abrahamic faiths) and if I decide in the end the faith (Islam) is for me, I'll integrate the others into my daily life as well. It's hard to do everything at once... Some things are easy for me, though as they were part of my previous view on things. For example, I don't drink alcohol and don't want to, so giving that up is of no consequence to me. And some things I don't mind and others will be a struggle and sacrifice. That's all part of jihad al-akbar -- the Greater Jihad, which is a spiritual struggle and striving for God...not everything is easy and I accept that.

Yup...

Breaking the initiatory oaths is the only major one, proselytizing is also considered extremely taboo.
    "The word "natural" is completely meaningless! Everything is natural! Nature includes everything! It's not just trees and flowers! It's everything! A chemical company's toxic waste is completely natural! It's part of the nature! We're all part of nature! Everything is natural! Dog shit is natural! It's just not real good food!" George Carlin

http://www.last.fm/user/kidthorazine/

Drop acid, not bombs.

Add me on facebook! (please mention that you are from MW and include username)

To believe in any god(s) would be pretty taboo for me wouldn't you think?

Quote Originally Posted by Mystic Christian View Post