Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Morals

is offline I'm not shy. I'm just studying my prey

Morals

Who decides what is good, bad, right and wrong; and by what standard?

Are our morals based upon a mixture of social/parental/experienced influence?

How do we consciously judge what morals to adopt for ourselves?

How do you personally define "morals" (outside of a dictionary definition)?
    Facebook::Witch blog::Book Blog
    Gods and Goddesses, Paths: Dianic & Goddess Witchcraft, Theology & Philosophy, Just Current Events, and Political Pagan Forum Guide.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. - Buddha

Question everything.

I believe that morals are subjective, however many cultures' morals have been defined by religion. My moral code is defined by how the things I do and say make me feel. If I feel guilt or shame for something I did, then that something *might* be immoral.

Quote Originally Posted by Philosophia View Post
    When you pose this question, what sort of answer are you looking for? Do you wish to know how people in fact make moral decisions, or how they ought to? In the former case, the answers are surely obvious. In the latter case, perhaps the answers are not so obvious: but it seems clear that people do make moral decisions all the time, in accord with many standards, some rational, some not, some in between.

It seems likely that most people learn their moral ideas from these sources.

Again, there are lots of cards here you could pull.

You might judge things in a utilitarian way, and say that the right thing to do is that which produces the best consequences: the most benefit, the least harm.

You could say that there are moral duties, which ought to be fulfilled regardless of consequences: such duties arising from some conception of human nature, or human reason, or divine command.