Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Wiccan and Shinto?

Wiccan and Shinto?

Hello all! For those of you that know, I've been interesting and drawn into Wicca now for a few years, but here recently, I've been researching Shinto. Can the 2 be combined into one? Any answers will be greatly appreciated!
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Why do they need to be one? In Japan (the home of Shinto) most families are both Shinto and Buddhist. They don't really cover the same parts of life so they compliment eachother. Like Shinto does not handle anything to do with death, it's taboo. So Buddhism stepped in and handles all funerals and ancestor worship. I think you can follow more than one path at once.
    -monkey1212
    Space is disease and danger wrapped in darkness and silence. -Leonard 'Bones' McCoy

You could be a wiccan and in your personal practice follow the Japanese way of the gods too... but Wicca is just a reconstructed british fertility cult and Shinto has fertility cults already. Id say itd be a lot of effort to go to for no real good reason.

I have looked into this myself and came to the realization that it can't for me.
    I lived in Okinawa for five years as a teenager and we participated in Shinto practices while living there, visiting shrines for New Year's and vacations. At the time, we felt like it was just experiencing the culture and in terms of Shinto and Japan.. we were since they could be considered pretty blended.