Thread: Atonement

Atonement

Hi, I'm new to MW, and I'm not very sure if this is the forum to post this question. I'm looking for suggestions about a ritual of atonement.

The quick facts: as a pagan, I felt a strong affinity for Freyja, for very personal reasons, but I eventually discovered that she didn't want to be my patron goddess. I realized that in rather dire circumstances, and my breaking with her was quite sacrilegous. Really disgraceful. To this day I have not felt clean enough to enter her shrine again, nor to pray to other gods, save Loki, who is rather understanding in matters of sacrilege.

To my surprise, and also to my amusement, I experienced the full extent of Freyja's power just after we broke: I lost the keys of my house when returning from her shrine, a week later I left my car in a bad parking lot and it was taken away (when returning from a holiday, so I had to walk miles on foot to retrieve it, at night and with my luggage), then a week later my car broke down and is now being repaired. I've been fortunate enough to take it all with good humor.

If I want to go on with my rituals and life, I have to atone to Freyja. Besides, I still love and respect her, and I'm ashamed of myself. What ritual do you suggest? I know it must be a blood ritual (my blood), but I would accept any further suggestions, if you are kind enough to offer any.

Thank you very much, and please excuse the long post. At least I hope you find it instructive. And remember, never, never enter a shrine while drunk and bitter.
    Last edited by wyrg; November 11th, 2010 at 01:28 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by wyrg View Post
    Hi, I'm new to MW, and I'm not very sure if this is the forum to post this question. I'm looking for suggestions about a ritual of atonement.
    Like any apology, it mainly requires the courage to do it.