Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: Choosing a craft name

Choosing a craft name

Craft names! Sometimes they just come to you, other times they...don't. I happen to be one of the witches whose name remains elusive.

I have two stipulations about my name: that it not be one that takes itself especially seriously, and that it not be one that's very common at all. There's tons of Morgans and Ravens out there; as much as I love those names, I want something that's uniquely me. I'm very nature and animal oriented. I love cats and insects. I'm studying to be a doctor. I'm good at working with my hands and with textiles. All these are things I've considered as inspirations for a name.

So, share with me how you chose YOUR craft name. Or, if you're looking, share your pitfalls and struggles. Inspiration, suggestions, and stories - drop them off here!

Hey Hey, Nice topic.

Back in the day. I chose my middle name as a 'craft name'. I wasn't in the craft, but I used it as a more essential way to describe myself during my... 'rituals/experiments'.

I chose my middle name because I have a unique middle name, It was not something I shared with anyone, so it was something that only my family and closest friends knew. I must have picked up the name theory, which says, someone who knows your full/true name has power over you.

Fast Forward years and years. I'm at a beginning again, and I may chose a craft name.

"Eyeris", also my username here, has a story behind it. In college we were performing the play "Metamorphosis", which was basically a reworking of Ovid's Metamorphosis.

In the play, actors swap roles for each story told. I played about 10 characters. One of my most brief roles was one of the lesser gods "Iris, the Rainbow."

Playing her was a lot of fun, and I enjoyed what I found in my research: A messenger goddess, usually for Hera, whom was said to be faster than Hermes, and who's job was also to take the seawater back to the clouds via rainbow.