Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Memory vs intuition

Memory vs intuition

Hi all. I have a pretty good memory and sometimes when doing a reading it feels like I am just rattling off a meaning from a book rather than what my intuition is telling me. About 50% of the time I feel what the cards are saying but the other 50% I can't get my intuition working and the stock standard descriptions just come to mind and I can't seem to get any more than that.

I am by no means an advanced reader and I've only recently started to feel a strong connection with the cards.

Does anyone have any advice for me?

Thanks, Grug

I can honestly say, I know exactly what you're talking about.
    I'm new to tarot and through dedicated studying, I'm getting better. 50% of the time -- I'm like... "I totally get this.." and 50% of the time I'm looking at them going "I have no idea what this is." and I regurgitate the collection of meanings I've gathered from other places. I usually blame it on the fact that I can't relate the meaning to the art. That I don't see or agree with what others see in the picture.

Its gotten to the point I'm now DREAMING meanings of cards! Gah!
    I'm very interested to see what seasoned tarot readers can say to make us feel better about it :P Maybe we're just newbs and it comes with time?
    I am... Witchy Woman Incognito
    “Although only breath, words which I command are immortal.” - Sappho

In my experience interpretation of the cards is a combination of both. Taking the "official" meanings of cards and combining them together using intuition to read them. It's why I never pull just one cards, imho it's meaningless by itself.

Grug: When you say you can't get the cards working I suppose it depends on how you view reading the tarot. Personally I think the tarot are a spirit and they don't always chose to share with us. If you're getting nothing perhaps they are declining to answer?