Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Question about the athame...

Question Question about the athame...

I'm fairly new to Wicca and I have a question about the athame. I know, traditionally the handle is supposed to be black, but I recently received one that has a brass mermaid for the handle. Would this make a just as useful athame? Will there be any disadvantages to using one like this? Thanks in advance for any help I can get. ^_^
    "I was thrown out of college for cheating on the metaphysics exam. I looked into the soul of the boy next to me." -- Woody Allen

Can you vision yourself as more comfortable with a black-handled blade, or with the one you received as a gift? I ask because, while that detail is probably important within some of the more strict traditions, if you're eclectic, it probably won't matter a whole lot.

Not to mention, it is a gift. Things that are meant for majickal use sometimes come to you that way.

Faith is easy -- until the moment you actually need it.

"Since when are facts subjective?" - Athena_Nadine

"Turning and turning in the widening gyre
    The falcon cannot hear the falconer;
    Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;
    Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,
    The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
    The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
    The best lack all convictions, while the worst
    Are full of passionate intensity."

W.B. Yeats, "The Second Coming"

I really don't see a problem with your athame being whatever you would like it to be. I've known many that have used things such as a butter knife or a letter opener for an athame. I ordered mine online from the Blessed Bee, and they had many to choose from back then (two or three years ago). I chose one with a dark brown wooden handle so I could use a wood burner on it to engrave my name and the triple moon symbol. Whatever you feel comfortable using, by all means, use it.
    Brightest Blessings,
    Carridwynn

Journal of the Sidhe