Page 1 of 14 1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast

Thread: Topics of Study for a Wiccan

Topics of Study for a Wiccan

When I started studying Wicca, there was an enormous amount I was expected to learn. Student Wiccans were expected to study extensively on their own. In addition to developing cursory knowledge in many areas, we were expected to specialize in one or a few. As a teacher, I consider specialization something that should come a little later, just as you don’t choose a college major your freshman year.

I thought I would try to compile a list of topic areas in which we were expected to develop some knowledge. See what you can add.

Oh, btw, this is above and beyond knowledge of Wicca, basic ritual techniques, circle casting, elemental knowledge, the holidays, the rules, and the history of Wicca itself, history of medieval witchcraft and the Inquisition, etc.

Magical Systems
    Any student would be expected to at least recognize everything on this list and have some intelligence about it, and to have read at least 2 or 3 books on topics in this area. Every Wiccan was expected to have read Dion Fortune.
    Goetia
    Enochian; knowledge of John Dee
    Ceremonial Lodge Magic, including Golden Dawn, Thelema
    Theosophy and related offshoots
    Knowledge of people such as Eliphas Levy, S.L. MacGregor Mathers, A.E. Waite, Aleister Crowley, Madame Blavatsky, Alice Bailey, Franz Hartmann
    Dion Fortune’s work

Divination
    Every Wiccan would be expected to have working, usable, useful knowledge of at least one divinatory system. Everyone would need at least passing familiarity with astrology and Tarot, even if they’re not the divinatory system actually used.
    Tarot
    Astrology
    Runes
    Scrying
    Tea Leaf Reading
    Palmistry
    Handwriting Analysis

Myth and comparative religion
    Knowledge of mythology including Greek, Norse, Irish, Welsh, Sumerian/Babylonian, Polynesian, and more.