Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: A Sad Cat Resuce Experience

A Sad Cat Resuce Experience

I had a sad experience today with a cat, I found a cat nearly dead lying in the median of a very busy highway. My husband saw the cat and asked me if he should turn around to get it. I said, sure, I'm a vet assistant, I feel obligated. Well, I walked up to this cat and it didn't budge and wasn't looking at me, so I thought it was dead, but when I got close it rolled over as if to atack, and then just went limp. I knew something was very very wrong, but I didn't want to get bitten (helllo Rabies?) so I scrufted the cat, and carried him back to the truck, wraped it up in a jacket. He was covered in ticks, and wasn't all there mentaly, I was afraid he was feral. But soon he relaxed and started to kneed the coat, so then I knew he was friendly and understood that I was there to help. He was very thin, but I didn't want to mess with him in the car (ie didn't want to get bit). So I called into work, "Hey it's me, I found a cat covered in ticks, let the Doc know I'm coming in ASAP, he's not acting normal, but not bleeding." Well, I rush into the hospital and take in to the back to get a proper look. I was going to do a FIV/Leuk test first, but the Doc took a look at his mouth. "He's an old cat, missing lots of teeth, very very very dehydrated, and probably in renal failure." Anne, another nurse, said this cat should be put to sleep, he's not going to make it. Now, I just lost a cat to renal failure, so I knew when I heard that, there was no hope. So, we had to put him to sleep. He was so dehydrated that the Doc had a hard time with it. I named him Mercy as I feel all cats should have a name on the day they die. I still feel like I rescued him, as least he didn't have to spend one more night out in the rain alone suffering.

Goddess Bless you Mercy! I'm glad I could be there to end your suffering. In the end you were loved.
    Dove

New to Wicca? Start Here!